A Friend’s TBR

I have been juggling many things in life lately. Homeschooling children, volunteering in my community, and many family obligations keep piling up. Balancing these with finishing my final semester of my MLIS program has left me feeling worn out and incredibly tired at night.

What’s a bookish girl to do when her eyes are too tired to read?

“Find a tv show” is not the answer. Find a book that is easy and fun, now THAT is the answer.

I have a lovely audiobook I am listening to right now. Emma by Jane Austen, narrated by Fiona Shaw.

Jane Austen is my comfort read, but I have generally always hated Emma. Fiona Shaw makes the novel actually enjoyable. So when my eyes are tired or I need to walk and workout rather than read, I rely on my audiobook.

HOWEVER, Jane Austen is not my answer. I am most excited to get a lull in school during our upcoming March break and read the first book on my TBR. Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you this gorgeous period novel:

This is the first novel in a YA historical fiction duology. It follows the Davenport family, one of the few black families that have immense wealth in America post-civil war. It is based on the real-life story of C.R. Patterson and his family.

For those who love Downton Abbey, Bridgerton, or other period dramas, might I recommend this novel? As for me, I can’t wait to read it! I will not be listening on audio however, as I need to look at this beautiful cover on my nightstand every night.

I hope you enjoy!

Morgan

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started